Skip to content

GTA 6 launches Nov 19, 2026
Unofficial GTA 6 launch guide

GTA 6
Launch guide
Nov 19

Get alerts

Pre-launch

How to pre-order GTA 6 as a gifton PS5, Xbox and retail

Gift GTA 6 with a PlayStation gift card, a Microsoft Store gift or a code-in-box copy. Region rules, bonus dates and what to check, as of October 7, 2026.

By Sunset Edition desk2 min read

Get a launch alert

Three ribboned gift boxes on a stone ledge beside a calm sunset sea.
Original illustration

There are three official ways to give someone GTA 6: a PlayStation Store gift card, a Microsoft Store gift or voucher, or a code-in-box copy from a retailer or the Rockstar Games Store. None of the GTA VI store pages we opened describes a "gift this game" button. Confirmed Gifts follow normal store rules, including region.

Your options

Ways to gift GTA 6
MethodHow it worksCatch
PlayStation gift cardPlayStation calls store gift cards the go-to way to gift digital games, and they pay for digital pre-orders. UnconfirmedThe recipient adds funds, then buys the game themselves
Microsoft Store giftMicrosoft sells gifts for select digital goods that the recipient redeems. UnconfirmedSame country or region only, and we could not confirm that GTA VI pre-orders can be gifted
Code-in-box copyStandard Edition is sold as a box that holds a download code, no disc. ConfirmedPhysical copies are listed from November 12, 2026, per Take-Two. Confirmed
Digital code from a retailerA retailer emails a codeCheck the platform and region on the listing before paying

Ultimate Edition is digital only, so it cannot come in a box. Confirmed Xbox lists an Ultimate upgrade at $20.00, but PlayStation lists the upgrade add-on as unavailable, so a Standard gift only keeps options open on Xbox. See editions and what is in them.

The region lock

PlayStation vouchers work only in the same store region as the account that redeems them, according to PlayStation support. Unconfirmed Microsoft's gift terms say gifts can only be purchased and redeemed by users in the same country or region. Unconfirmed Before buying, ask which country the recipient's PlayStation or Microsoft account is set to.

Bonuses and dates

  • Everyone who buys before November 20, 2026 gets the Vintage Vice City Pack, per Rockstar's store. The Xbox listing words the cutoff as 23:59:59 on November 19, so follow the date on the store you use. Confirmed
  • One month of GTA+ comes with digital pre-orders only. Confirmed Whether a gifted purchase carries the same bonus is not stated on the pages we opened. Unconfirmed
  • A gift card does not lock in the bonus by itself. The bonus depends on the game being bought before the deadline, so give the card early enough that the recipient can buy.

What only official stores show

Only the PlayStation Store, Microsoft Store, Rockstar Games Store and retailers show real prices, terms and gift options. Confirmed Do not buy from a social media seller or a site promising "GTA 6 gift keys" at a discount. See our scams guide.

A safe way to gift GTA 6

  1. Ask which console the recipient owns and which country their account is in.
  2. Pick Standard (code-in-box or digital) or a gift card from that region's store.
  3. Buy from the official store or a known retailer only.
  4. Give the card or code before November 20, 2026 if you want the Vice City Pack to be included.
  5. Tell the recipient to redeem or pre-load from November 12.
Can I gift GTA 6 on PS5?

Use a PlayStation Store gift card from the recipient's region. No direct "gift this game" option appears on the GTA VI listing. Confirmed

Can I gift GTA 6 on Xbox?

Microsoft sells gifts for select digital goods, but Xbox's 2017 announcement excluded pre-orders and we found no newer statement for GTA VI. Unconfirmed

Does a gift work in another country?

Not reliably. PlayStation and Microsoft both tie vouchers and gifts to the same region. Unconfirmed

Can I give GTA 6 as a physical copy?

Yes, as a code-in-box Standard Edition, listed from November 12, 2026. There is no disc. Confirmed

Does the pre-order bonus go with a gift?

The bonus applies to purchases before November 20, 2026. How it is assigned for a gift is not stated. Unconfirmed

Launch alerts

Get an email when pre-load opens.

One email when pre-load opens and one at launch. We also write if the date, price or file size changes. No spam.

One email when pre-load opens and one at launch. No spam, unsubscribe any time. Privacy

Sources

7 links
  1. Rockstar Games announces pre-orders for Grand Theft Auto VITake-Two Interactive, 2026-06-24
  2. Grand Theft Auto VI on the Rockstar Games StoreRockstar Games, 2026-10-07
  3. PlayStation gift cardsPlayStation, 2026-10-07
  4. Microsoft Gift Terms and Conditions (Digital Goods)Microsoft, 2026-10-07
  5. Game Gifting Now AvailableXbox Wire, 2017-11-16
  6. Grand Theft Auto VI on XboxXbox, 2026-10-07
  7. How to redeem a PlayStation Store voucher codePlayStation Support, 2026-10-07

We summarise facts in our own words and link to where they come from. Read the source for the full story.

Last verified Oct 7, 2026. Spotted something out of date? Suggest an edit.